This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Getting Started at Dibner Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Citing SourcesEvaluating Information
polycat about help services find library-home NYU-Poly home

Admin Sign In 

Getting Started at Dibner Library 

This guide provides students with an overview of library services & resources.
Last update: Jan 29th, 2010 URL: http://poly.libguides.com/gettingstarted  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

About Library Databases

The Dibner Library subscribes to a wide range of online databases. Some contain full text of magazines, journals, newspapers and books, while others contain citations and abstracts.

You must log on using your Last Name and NYU-Poly ID number when off campus.

 

Select a Database

If you are exploring a topic:

Recommended Databases to Get Started:

  • ProQuest: Large multidisciplinary database that includes journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • Web of Science: Leading scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
  • IEEE Xplore: Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
 

Find a Specific Journal

To find out if the library has access to a journal online, browse by journal title or enter the title in the box below.

Journals A to Z:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Journal Title:

                      ISSN: (What is an ISSN?)
                                 
 

Search for Articles

Most databases can be searched using keywords. However, you can also search databases using:

  • author's name
  • subject heading (more precise than keywords)
  • journal title
  • specific dates or a range of dates
  • article title

Databases usually allow you to limit your search by:

  • type of publication (scholarly articles, book chapters, review articles, magazines, etc)
  • language
  • full text when available

Research Tip: When you begin searching a new database, look at the Help pages and tutorials.

 

Finding Full Text

Not all databases will provide you a direct link to the full text of an article.

If you come across a button that looks like or , click it for a menu of options to get full text. You may be required to enter your NYU NetID and password to follow the link to the full text.  For more information, read SFX FAQ.

 
 

Can't Find What You Need?

Ask a Librarian We can help you find the item in our collection or borrow it from another library.

Request items from other Libraries Request an item  using the Interlibrary Loan Form. Read the FAQ for more information.

 

Accessing Databases via Bobst Library

To  access databases available through the Bobst Library website, use your NYU NetID and password.

Read FAQ about NYU access for more information.

 

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals Trade Publications

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Newspapers Magazines

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait