BiologyBusiness, Management & FinanceChemistryComputer ScienceEngineeringHealth & MedicineMathematicsMultidisciplinaryPhysics
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Databases (Electronic Resources)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library header

Databases (Electronic Resources)  

Use databases to find electronic resources such as journal articles, magazines, newspapers, and e-books.
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2013 URL: http://poly.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Library Databases

The Dibner Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic databases. Some contain full text of journals, newspapers, magazines or books (look for the icon), while others contain only citations and abstracts.

Off Campus Access 

A key icon indicates that you will have to login to the database if you are off campus.  Login using the first part of your Poly email (before the @) and your NYU-Poly ID number. To access databases directly through NYU Bobst Library, use your NetID and password.

More information about logging in.

 

Accessing Databases via Bobst Library

To  access databases available through the Bobst Library website, use your NYU NetID and password.

Read FAQ about NYU access for more information.

 

Finding Full Text

Not all databases will provide you a direct link to the full text of an article. When you see this icon, the database is enabled with SFX, an article linker that connects citations with full text.

When you come across a button that looks like or , click it for a menu of options to get full text. You may be required to enter your NYU NetID and password to follow the link to the full text.  For more information, read SFX Frequently Asked Questions.

 

Can't Find What You Need?

Ask a Librarian We can help you find the item in our collection or borrow it from another library.

Request items from other Libraries Request an item  using the Interlibrary Loan Form. Read the FAQ for more information.

Good Starting Points

  • IEEE Xplore  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes access to IEEE journals, proceedings, and standards, with select content back to 1952.
  • ProQuest  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A large multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles (over 8,000 in full-text). Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Full text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, books, and reference works in a wide range of disciplines including Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Math, Health, Management, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
  • SpringerLink  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A full text online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works. Most journal titles include complete back issues from 1997.
  • Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Access leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
  • Wiley Online Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
 

Icon Key

more information  = More information
full text  = Some full text is available
database search help = Database search help
article linker = Article linker (SFX) enabled
restricted access = Restricted to NYU-Poly*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus. 

 

Video Tutorials

Learn how to search databases effctively with these Video Tutorials.

Questions, Comments or Problems? Contact the Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip