This is the "A - Z" page of the "Databases (Electronic Resources)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
BiologyBusiness, Management & FinanceChemistryComputer ScienceEngineeringHealth & MedicineMathematicsMultidisciplinaryPhysics
polycat about help services find library-home NYU-Poly home

Admin Sign In 

Databases (Electronic Resources) 

Dibner Library's electronic resource collection arranged by A-Z, subject, and information type.
Last update: Feb 03rd, 2010 URL: http://poly.libguides.com/databases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

A - Z            Print Page
  
 

Browse Databases by Name

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

A

B

  • Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge)  
    An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, with topics ranging from biochemistry to microbiology to pharmacology. Includes over 4,200 journal titles, 1969-present.
  • BIOSIS Previews (ISI Web of Knowledge)  
    Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology, and more, 1969-present.
  • Books24x7  
    Thousands of full text business, technical and IT books, book summaries, research reports and best practices.
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
    Provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

C

  • Cambridge Journals Online  
    Full-text access to a wide selection of journals published by the Cambridge University Press in the social sciences, math and sciences.
  • Chicago Manual of Style Online  
    A searchable guide that provides quick answers to your style and editing questions. Covers everything from grammar and usage to manuscript preparation.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education  
    The number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
  • Chronicle of Philanthropy  
    The number one news source for fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.
  • CINAHL Plus (EBSCOHost)  
    Provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and cl
  • Compendex - Engineering Village  
    An interdisciplinary engineering database containing citations and abstracts referencing over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present.
  • Computing Reviews  
    Provides reviews and overview needed to identify the essential books and articles in computer science.
  • COS Funding Opportunities  
    This is a database of more than 30,000 research grants. It allows you to perform highly specialized searches to identify sources of funding with application dates that are still open.

D

E

  • EBSCOhost  
    A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit  
    Covers over 200 markets, including country analysis and forecasts, risk assessments, economic and market data, and industry trends. Frequency of updates vary, with most occurring monthly or annually.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online  
    Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with multimedia available for some articles, plus online access to the 10th edition of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
  • Engineering Village  
    Includes Compendex - An interdisciplinary engineering database containing citations and abstracts, and Referex - full-text of hundreds of engineering reference books.
  • Environment Complete (EBSCOhost)  
    An interdisciplinary database that contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.

G

  • Gale Group  
    Collection of general reference databases, including literary research, company information, Spanish language periodicals and newspaper full text articles and indexing.
  • GreenFILES  
    This bibliographic database draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as technology, health, education, and law. Full text is available for some titles.

I

  • IEEE  
    Full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes access to IEEE journals, proceedings, and standards, with select content back to 1952.
  • Ingenta Connect Complete  
    A citation database that covers research articles in a wide range of fields. Some full text available.
  • Inspec (ISI web of Knowledge)  
    A comprehensive index to the global journal and conference proceedings in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology, 1898-present.
  • Institute of Physics (IOP)  
    Full text journals in Physics, Materials Science, and Math.
  • IRIS  
    The Illinois Researcher Information Service is a free database of funding opportunities in the sciences and the humanities provided by the University of Illinois.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge  
    A collection of bibliographic databases in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes: Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, Inspec, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports.

J

  • JSTOR  
    Interdisciplinary full text archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.

K

  • Knovel  
    Online science and engineering reference collection that includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations, and interactive graphs and tables.

L

  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
    Provides full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, and non-English language sources.
  • Lexis Nexis Congressional  
    Ideal for in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest. Find congressional materials, voting records and legislative histories.

M

  • MathSciNet  
    Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Use the NYU icon to link to full text.
  • MEDLINE (ISI Web of Knowledge)  
    The premier index of the U.S. National Library of Medicine covers biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, clinical care, and plant and animal science from 1950-present.

N

O

P

  • Physical Review Online Archive  
    The American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2004. Each January, another year is added to the archive.
  • ProQuest  
    Includes ProQuest Central , the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 11,250 titles—with over 8,400 titles in full text. It also includes full text from ABI/Inform (business and management journals).
  • PsycNET (APA)  
    Search multiple databases at once that include full text books, articles, and gray literature published by the American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
  • PubMed Central (PMC)  
    The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. The Journal List displays the first and latest issue of each journal available and how soon after publication the journal's articles are

R

  • Regional Business News (EBSCOHost)  
    Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications, including 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry  
    Access to over 20 full text journals covering all branches of chemistry, including inorganic, organic, analytical, physical and chemical physics. In addition, the archive includes all articles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1841 to 2004

S

  • Safari Books Online  
    Over 280 technical e-books in computer science and information technology, including programming languages, operating systems, software applications, and much more.
  • SAGE  
    SAGE publishes more than 485 journals in the Life, Social & Physical Sciences,Technology, Medicine, Business, and Humanities. To only retrieve results that are available in full text, go to advance search and select "SAGE Full-Text Collections."
  • Science Citation Index  
    See "Web of Science"
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)  
    Full text access to 2,500 peer-reviewed journals, books, and reference works in a wide range of disciplines including Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Math, Health, Management, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
  • Scitation  
    More than one million links to documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from scientific societies. Some full text available.
  • Smithsonian Physical Tables  
    Classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics. Full-text searchable electronic format makes data easily accessible.
  • Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Journals  
    Full-text access to 14 peer-reviewed research journals published by SIAM. Dates back to at least 1997.
  • SpringerLink  
    A full text online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works. Most journal titles include complete back issues from 1997.
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Computer Science and Engineering  
    A full-text collection covering 30 engineering areas, primarily related to electrical engineering, computer science, and bioengineering. It contains relatively brief introductions (50-250 pages) to complex topics.

T

  • Theses  
    Download full-text theses and dissertations from NYU-Poly and other schools nationwide.

W

  • Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)  
    Access leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
  • Wiley Interscience Journals  
    A comprehensive collection of 1,400 full text journals in 14 subject areas.
  • WorldCat Advanced (First Search)  
    Search millions of records in libraries worldwide. Click "Request this Item Now" to get items not available in Dibner Library through interlibrary loan.
  • WorldCat.org  
    The publicly accessible version of World Cat which offers an easy to use interface and allows you to create a personal profile, share lists, and manage references with ease.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait