This is the "Overview" page of the "Digital Media & Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library header

Digital Media & Technology  

An interdisciplinary guide on all aspects of digital media and technology.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2012 URL: http://poly.libguides.com/digitalmedia Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Articles and E-books

Listed below are the most useful databases for finding articles and e-books on digital media research. For a complete list of available databases with descriptions go to Databases A-Z. For specific journal and e-book titles, explore the tabs above.

Digital Media Websites

  • Digital Media Association
    Advocacy group that promotes a business environment that supports the digital media industry. Covers issues such as copyright, consumer protection, and net neutrality.
  • Digital Media Jobs
    International jobs site focusing on the digital media industry.
  • Digital Media Project  
      
    A research initiative that aims to help educate stakeholders – government officials, the media, artists, businesspeople, and the public at large – about the choices and values that can guide law and technology.
  • Digital Media Wire
    Provides important news stories about the business of digital media.
  • Future of Media
    An initiative of the FCC, this project reviews the state of the traditional sources of news and reporting journalism, and new models for providing information to consumers and communities.
  • Learning Through Digital Media - Experiments in Technology and Pedagogy
    Discover how to use digital media for learning on campus and off. It offers a rich selection of methodologies, social practices, tools, and hands-on assignments by leading educators.
  • New Media Consortium
    An international not-for-profit consortium of learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies. Produces the Horizon Reports, an annual report on new and emerging technologies.
  • New Media Institute
    A research and fact finding organization whose mission is to improve public understanding of issues surrounding the Internet and other forms new media communications.

Digital Media & Technology at NYU-Poly

  • Brooklyn Experimental Media Center
    An interdisciplinary center that works on audio, video, 3D graphics, game engines, web, mobile, and interaction design projects.
  • Center for Advanced Technology in Telecommunications
    An industry/university partnership that explores: Wireless and Personal Communications networks and devices, Integrated and Secure Information Technologies and Solutions, and Multi-media applications/services.
  • CITE Game Innovation Lab
    A new dynamic space for research and learning that takes games as an innovation challenge. Grounded in computer science, engineering, and user experience, with participation of researchers and educators from other allied disciplines.
  • Games for Learning Institute
    Based at NYU, the Institute brings together game designers, computer scientists, and education researchers from nine partner institutions. Explores what makes a game successful.
  • NYC MediaLab
    Launched in 2010, this is a public-private partnership that links academic research with the media business world.
  • NYU Game Center
    A multi-school center for the research, design and development of digital games housed at the NYU's Tisch School. Aims to graduate the next generation of game designers, developers, entrepreneurs, and critics, and to advance the art, science and culture of gaming.
  • Video Lab
    Led by Professor Yao Wang, the Video Lab researches areas related to visual information processing and networked video applications.
  • Wireless Internet Center for Advanced Technology
    A multi-university R&D center that collaborates with industry research partners to create flexible, efficient, and secure wireless networks.
 

News from Digital Media Wire

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Background Information

  • Encyclopedia of Multimedia  Icon  Icon
    An online reference to all things multimedia. Provides coverage of the important concepts, issues and technology trends in the field.

Librarian

Profile Image
Ingrid Redman
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
718-260-3672
Send Email
What I do in the Library::
Web Services
 
Questions, Comments or Problems? Contact the Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip