via Dibner Libraryvia Bobst LibraryFree e-books
This is the "Introduction" page of the "E-books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library header

E-books  

How to find and use e-books
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://poly.libguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an E-book?

An e-book is an electronic book that you can read on your pc, laptop, mobile phone or e-reader device.

E-books can be electronic versions of a print book or they may not have any printed equivalent. They come in a variety of formats, all of which can be read online, but some also allow you to download and/or print either the entire book or sections.

E-books at NYU-Poly

Use this guide to learn how to find, read, and cite e-books using the Dibner Library databases below, as well as Bobst Library and free websites.

  • AccessEngineering  Icon  Icon
    Over 280 books, covering all areas of engineering including: bio, chemical, civil, communications, electrical, environmental, industrial, mechanical, and software engineering. Also includes Schaum's Outlines.
  • Books24x7  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Technology books covering subjects such as C++, Java, object-oriented programming, algorithms, computer networks, cryptography, parallel and distributed computing, and much more.
  • Cambridge Books Online  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 3,000 books in science and engineering plus books covering the humanities, social sciences, and medicine.
  • CRCNetBASE  Icon  Icon
    Professional and technical books in chemistry, engineering, materials science, environmental science, mathematics, statistics, forensic science, law enforcement, information security, neuroscience, and nanotechnology. NOTE: access via Bobst Library, use NetID to login
  • Engineering Village - Referex  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Full-text collection of hundreds of engineering reference books.
  • Knovel  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Online science and engineering reference collection that includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations, and interactive graphs and tables.
  • Safari Books Online  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 350 technical e-books in computer science and information technology, including programming languages, operating systems, software applications, and much more.
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Full text access to over two thousand books and reference works in a wide range of disciplines including Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Math, Health, Management, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
  • SpringerLink  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A full text collection of scientific, technological and medical books, journals and reference works. Select "Books" or "Book Series" under content type to limit your results to books.
 

Icon Key

more information  = More information
full text  = Some full text is available
database search help = Database search help
article linker = Article linker (SFX) enabled
restricted access = Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus. 

 

E-book Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Portability  – Most e-book devices can hold literally hundreds or even thousands of e-books in their memory. That's a lot less weight to lug around in your backpack.
  • Instant gratification – Ever wait until the wee hours of the evening to look up that book you need for your research paper? A nice thing about e-books is that you have access to them 24/7 so you can get the book even when the library is closed.
  • Search Capability – Entering your keywords in a search box is way quicker than flipping through pages of print.
  • Savings – When a hardcover paper book and an e-book of it come out at the same time, the e-book version is usually priced lower. It also tends to be less expensive for a library to store and maintain an e-book collection.

Cons:

  • Requires Special Equipment – All you need to read a print book is the book and some light. Not so with e-books. Whether you use an e-book reader, computer or mobile device–you need some sort of electronic equipment to read an e-book. These devices can be costly and they all require power to function.
  • Format Compatibility – Publishers use a variety of different formats for e-books. Some are available as PDFs, others as HTML, and there are those that are compatible with a particular type of device (iPad, Kindle, etc). Some formats have clunky navigation or may not be comtible with your device.
  • Digital Rights Management (DRM) – Sometimes e-books may not be downloaded or only a small portion may be printed.  
  • Doesn't Smell Like a Book – Some book-lovers simply prefer the look, feel, weight, and yes, smell—of a paper book.
 

How do you feel about e-books?




Bern Dibner Library of Science and Technology
5 MetroTech Center, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Contact Us
NYU Libraries
NYU Engineering
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip