Where do I Find Articles?
The library subscribes to a variety of electronic databases that contain journal articles and other types of information.
Find out more here: What's a Database?
Older editions of some journals are available in bound volumes in the stacks.
Select a Database
If you are exploring a topic:
- Browse a list of Databases By Subject or use the Subject Guides.
- If you know the name of a database use the A- Z list.
- Ask a Librarian if you need help determining which database is the most appropriate.
Recommended Databases to Get Started:
- ProQuest: Large multidisciplinary database that includes journals, magazines and newspapers.
- Web of Science: Leading scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
- IEEE Xplore: Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Off Campus Access
A key icon
indicates that you will have to login to the database if you are off campus. Login using the first part of your Poly email (before the @) and your NYU-Poly ID number.
To access databases available through the Bobst Library website, use your NYU NetID and password. Read FAQ about NYU access for information about your NetID.
More information about logging in.
Find a Specific Journal
To find out if the library has access to a journal online, enter the title in the box below or browse by journal title:
How to Search for Articles
Most databases can be searched using keywords. However, you can also search databases using:
- author's name
- subject heading (more precise than keywords)
- journal title
- specific dates or a range of dates
- article title
Databases usually allow you to limit your search by:
- type of publication (scholarly articles, book chapters, review articles, magazines, etc)
- language
- full text when available
Research Tip: When selecting a database, look for the
for search tips and tutorials.
Types of Articles
| Scholarly Journals | Trade Publications |
|
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing. |
Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries. |
| Newspapers | Magazines |
|
Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories. |
Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics. |
Finding Full Text
Not all databases will provide you a direct link to the full text of an article. When you see this icon
, the database is enabled with SFX, an article linker that connects citations with full text.
When you come across a button that looks like
or
, click it for a menu of options to get full text. You may be required to enter your NYU NetID and password to follow the link to the full text. For more information, read SFX Frequently Asked Questions.
Can't Find What You Need?
Ask a Librarian We can help you find the item in our collection or borrow it from another library.
Request items from other Libraries Request an item using the Interlibrary Loan Form. Read the FAQ for more information.





Loading...
